Bampton to Tiverton 7 mile run – Easter Monday, 24 March 2008

March 24, 2008
10:30 am

The first Bampton to Tiverton Road Race was held on 22 April 1946 with 27 competitors. It was won by John Harvey from Tiverton in a time of 42 minutes 19 seconds. The 7-mile race has been held on Easter Monday virtually every year since then.

Race Entry Limit

There is an entry limit of 250, so make sure that you enter early to avoid disappointment.

Race Headquarters & Changing Accommodation

Registration takes place at Tiverton Town Football Club, Bolham Road, Tiverton from 8.45 a.m. Changing facilities and showers are also available here.


A supervised baggage area is located at the race headquarters. Each runner will be issued with a bin bag with their race number on it so that they can wear their tracksuit to the start. A baggage bus will return these bags to the race headquarters where they will be removed and stored in the baggage area, from where they can be collected after the race.

Free Bus

A fleet of free buses will take competitors to the start at Bampton. These buses will leave the race headquarters at Tiverton at approximately 15-minute intervals until all runners have been accounted for.


The race starts outside the White Horse Hotel in the centre of Bampton and follows the undulating main A396 road down the Exe Valley to Bolham where runners climb the steepest hill of the course and run past the front lodge of Knightshayes Court and across a bridge over the North Devon Link Road. The race finishes in Peoples’ Park, Tiverton which overlooks the race headquarters (see above).


  • Ladies: 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Vet O/35, O/40, O/45, O/50
  • Men: 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Vet O/40, O/45, O/50, O/55, O/60, O/65
  • 1st Tiverton Harrier (male)
  • 1st Tiverton Harrier (female)

All finishers will receive a memento.


  • Men: 1st (teams of 4 to count)
  • Ladies: 1st (teams of 3 to count)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.